IN TIMES BEFORE THE EURO – A caption to a randomly chosen picture!

Image

 

A CAMEO OF PARISIAN LIFE BEFORE THE EURO

“Now sonny boy, give my shoes a fine polish and I’ll give you one franc.”

“My names not Frank and I wouldn’t touch you with a barge pole with a boxing glove on the end, Madame.”

A CAMEO OF LONDON LIFE BEFORE THE EURO

“Now sonny boy, give my shoes a fine polish and I’ll give you one penny.”

“Isn’t obvious to the naked eye that my name couldn’t possibly be Penny – are you a weirdo or something?”

A CAMEO OF LIFE IN BERLIN BEFORE THE EURO

“Now sonny boy, give my shoes a fine polish and I’ll give you one mark.”

“Leave it out Fräulein, my names not Mark and look I’m a kid and you’re a sick old lady who’s going to get nicked if she’s not careful.”

 

 

Editorial Note: Yes I am aware that in London we still – regrettably in my opinion – use the £ sterling. 

9 thoughts on “IN TIMES BEFORE THE EURO – A caption to a randomly chosen picture!

    1. I will make sure I check out your blog shortly – only its half time in The Arsenal match and I am glued – so to speak. Will be back with my drivel very soon. Best of luck Sir!

      1. My sincere and unreserved apologies. I would never in normal circumstances mention the word ‘football’ before a lady – what must I have been thinking of? Suffice to say your dialogue is enchanting and when I get to ditch this ‘tablet thing’ – which I barely know how to use – in the morning I shall investigate your blog fully. As an insomniac of the first order my first attempt at sleep beckons. Once again my apologies, Goodnight Vienna.

      2. So as you do not think I am bad mannered. I have, three times thus far today, attempted to get into your blog on this WordPress thing yet, at time of writing, it still wishes me to ‘reload.’ I now pressed ‘reload’ many times to no avail. I am keen to read and will report back as soon as it lets me in! I note that this is happening on one or two other blogs presently.

Leave a Reply

