THE SUNLIGHT AND THE DUST – A sign of things to come?

Image

 

Empty hives, like empty lives are a sign of things to come,

Empty hives, no insects alive; the process has begun.

 

No more the swarm, the honey warm, the Queen and workers gone,

The human race out there in space; not here where they belong.

 

Empty hives, polluted pride, pollinator’s broke,

Empty lives, disgusting lies, extinguished at a stroke.

 

Empty hives, like empty lives don’t mean much at End Times,

Empty hives, forsaken sighs; we still don’t get the signs.

 

There may be colours in the spectrum, but all around red rust,

All that eyeless senses feel is the sunlight and the dust.

 

Empty hives, like sharpened knives are no use any more,

Empty lives and empty hives are cloaks that life once wore. 

 

You cannot count the cost, when everything is lost,

You cannot count the cost of what we’ve done,

You cannot count the cost, of boundaries that we’ve crossed,

You cannot count the cost when on the run. 

 

This is written with Rachael Charmley in mind for she causes me to stray from the path of ribald satire from time to time! She writes quite the finest stories and is worth visiting at;

 

http://rachaelheap.wordpress.com/

 

19 thoughts on “THE SUNLIGHT AND THE DUST – A sign of things to come?

  1. Another work of art proving that makes me appreciate the fact that Great Britain once owned pretty much half the globe, which is why so many of us speak English, which is why I can enjoy stuff like this.
    Also, thanks for pointing my attention to Rachael Charmley’s site!

    1. Thank you for your comment. I have by the way sent Ms Charmley the link to your blog. Hope you don’t mind. Also, what was the piece you wrote without full stops called? Shirley and I have a ten year friend – a little girl who is really very clever and can speak out monologues without pausing or fitting in the dreaded full stop – I’d like her and her mum to read you musings on the subject.

      1. You’re welcome to send anyone the link to my blog anytime!
        As for the piece you mentioned, it was ‘Sentenced to sentence’: http://randomnessessities.com/2013/11/15/sentenced-to-sentence/
        It wasn’t one of my stronger efforts, in the sense that I’d be more impressed by a ten year old girl being able to read that thing than I am by me writing it. Perhaps I should warn you, though, I did use the F-word a few times in that one…not sure if I want a cursing ten year old on my conscience;)

      2. I thought it was bloody brilliant. I may have to copy it to Word (and obviously discard said copy thereafter) change the ‘F’ bits and see what she makes of it. The kid has total recall when it comes to words so should have an interesting dinner party when she and her mum are next with us.

      3. Yes, please discard said copy right away. Burn it. In fact, burn your computer with it, just to be sure.
        Seriously, I appreciate the sentiment, but this is the internet. I don’t for a second believe I can control where my content ends up just by saying ‘©’. Actually, I’m only flattered people somehow appreciate what I write and trust that the majority will be decent enough to give credit when necessary.
        Anyway, enjoy your dinner party. It should be interesting to see a ten year old rant on the subject of Twitter and social media;)

      4. The kid is a genius – her Dad taught her a 6 minute West Indian rant in ramp format and she does it off pat! Mum, quite rightly won’t let any of us video it for fear it would go viral – which it would. Yet your work of art would be a challenge for her – I suspect she would rise to the occasion though. Rest assured I will always credit where credit is due! I shall take to an idle evening now as my brain hurts.

Leave a Reply

