GO TELL IT TO THE SNOWMAN – A particularly ‘silly’ piece of verse for wayward ‘blokes’!

Image

 

The longest night; the shortest day,

A time that’s made for love,

In mid winter’s frozen wasteland,

You forgot your scarf and gloves.

 

I think that was the last time,

Last time my eyes met yours,

I blinked first; all trust was lost,

Time held me in its jaws.

 

The crow sat upon a bare branch,

Like me, he’s feeling low,

You walked away, your back to me,

Your footprints in the snow.

 

I think that was the last time,

Last time I had the chance,

To call your name; to call you back,

To join me in the dance.

 

My collar up; wind at my face,

I turned and walked away,

Reflected on what I had done,

And the things I gave away.

 

I think that was the last time,

The coldest time of all,

The frostbite in my fingers,

As I headed for my fall.

 

Go tell it to the snowman,

Go tell it to the moon,

Go tell it to the naked trees,

I won’t be back here soon.

 

Because I am off back down to the pub,

I have my mates to see,

A good few beers; a curry,

Feels bloody great to be free.

 

Then I’ll go stay with Svetlana,

She has a heart of gold,

A sultry East European lass,

And her bed is never cold!

One thought on “GO TELL IT TO THE SNOWMAN – A particularly ‘silly’ piece of verse for wayward ‘blokes’!

Leave a Reply

