I’LL SETTLE FOR CAMBERWELL

Image

 

To laugh and cry in tandem,

Is a gift that true lover’s know,

The emotions of a sublime passion,

That must forever ebb and flow.

 

Good fortune it smiled upon us,

On the day we first met in Paris,

That was many years ago now,

When I said, “You’ve a lovely harris.”*

 

And yes I really meant it,

When just the other day,

I dropped down onto my one good knee,

And said, “Can I have my way,

 

With you once more in Deauville,

Maybe in Nice as well,

Yet in this inclement weather,

I’ll settle for Camberwell!” 

 

*Editorial Note – ‘Harris’ means “Arse.” It’s actually Rhyming Slang for Rhyming Slang. The correct rhyming slang for “Arse” is “Bottle & Glass.”  However once people knew this the term couldn’t really be used anymore without offending people, that prompted people to use the slang for “Bottle”, which is “Aris-totle” as slang for the first insult. “Aristotle” became “Aris” which in a London accent sounds the same as “Harris”

5 thoughts on “I’LL SETTLE FOR CAMBERWELL

Leave a Reply

