THE PRIME MINISTER NOTES THAT POLYESTER SHIRTS ‘SMELL’ WHEN IT’S HOT – A silly tale!

Image

 

“I say Carruthers you’ll never guess.  I just bumped into the PM in the corridor and – this is the strange bit – he sniffed; actually sniffed in my direction, gently yet with a note of disdain brushed the back of his hand over my shirt; pulled a face and said, ‘Polly Ester really does chuck up a tad when the weather is hot,’ no less. Poor girl, I wonder who exactly she is?”

“Search me. Polly Ester you say? Nothing worse than a smelly woman in my book though. Also, I have detected a truly awful pong in this office today, an odour so powerful it offends my delicate nostrils. I’m just wondering if it may emanate from the lady with the tea trolley for she visited just an hour ago serving us our morning Darjeeling and garibaldi biscuits.  That’s it; it can only be her I think.”

“Odd as it may sound the air, to me, is as fresh as a daisy in spring yet I’m with you on this one. Should I have a chat with Human Resources and get the fetid old cow sacked?”

“Seems a plan to me.”

“Right I’m on the case. Fancy imbibing in a few libation’s over the club?”

“Damn right I do – need to put something down the hatch for the office is malodorous to the point one could cut the air with a blunt knife!”

13 thoughts on “THE PRIME MINISTER NOTES THAT POLYESTER SHIRTS ‘SMELL’ WHEN IT’S HOT – A silly tale!

    1. Ah, the Garibaldi! Long time favourite of us Brits. A little hard to the bite, thin and oblong they contain dark raisins and dunk well in a cup of slosh (tea). My old mum’s very favourite when she had teeth!

  1. Another great Carruthers read! (I’m sorry my comments are rather shallow…I’m squeezing in this ‘read’ right before taking my dad and his wife to a bike rental, if you were at all interested in that;))

    1. Darjeeling is exquisite – and Indian tea we Brits have been drinking since the days of the Raj. If you like tea (it is considered a rather posh one) you should give it a try. Earl Grey tea is my personal favourite though!

      1. Well I don’t drink tea, but then again I’m not there where it’s considered proper. When I do go across the pond, however, I will be sure to try it. But not the raisin cookies, or biscuits as you say.

Leave a Reply

