TIME MEANS NOTHING TO THE CAPTIVATINGLY MAD PHYLLIS

Image

“Good morning Phyllis

How art thou this fine morrow?”

“I’m wearing blue today

It is my favourite colour

Pink is my second favourite

And I like cherry brandy”

“You look quite beautiful in blue

Suits your gorgeous complexion”

 

Phyllis smiled

What a shame

The very old

Silver haired

Somewhat touched

Almost immobile Phyllis

Had no teeth at all

Not even false ones

She kept losing them down the toilet

Her smile was a gummy one

Phyllis falls asleep

 

“Good morning Phyllis

How art thou this fine morrow?”

“I’m wearing blue today

It is my favourite colour

Pink is my second favourite

And I like cherry brandy”

“You look quite beautiful in blue

Suits your gorgeous complexion”

 

Time means nothing

To the captivatingly mad

Lovely Phyllis

 

She had added

Many extra days

To what few she had left

Assuming

Every time she awoke

A new day had dawned

No recollection

That I had greeted her thus

That she had responded thus

Just a few minutes earlier

Phyllis believed

That a new dawn broke for her

On average

Fifteen times

Each twenty-four hours

The nurse advised

Expected breakfast to be served

Each time

She roused herself 

 

“Never let Phyllis loose on a box of Belgium chocolates”

The nurse advised

In constant repetitive motion

Until there were no more

Phyllis would devour

Until

The box was empty

Complain

You do not get many

In a box these days

Toffees were here nemesis

Need to suck toffees

When you have no teeth

“Best she stays with the strawberry creams. They are her favourites”

The nurse advised

 

Phyllis always

Sat in an armchair

In the extreme corner

Away from the foremost

Access point

The doors to the big

Bright conservatory

Leading to a lounge

Of monumental proportions 

 

Phyllis

Whomsoever she was

Is probably dead now

I remember her though.

8 thoughts on “TIME MEANS NOTHING TO THE CAPTIVATINGLY MAD PHYLLIS

    1. Never say Belgium chocolates to a diabetic Sir. I was in Belgium just the other week and had to watch Shirley filling her face. By the way how does she follow you on WordPress? I say this because she asked.

      1. Poor you…to watch Shirley indulge herself like that while having to resist temptation yourself must be a ‘test’ of biblical proportions.
        There are two ways to follow my blog: The first would be to submit an email address the field you can find in the right side of all my site’s pages, underneath the header that says ‘satire nation welcomes all subscribers!’ Do that, and you will get an email notification, with link to content, each time I post something.
        If you prefer not to get daily emails, you can go to your WordPress Reader and check for posts tagged ‘Humor’, ‘Satire’, ‘Cynism’ or ‘Sarcasm’ (Those are the four tags I use for every one of my posts). The best time to do this would be around 2PM (England time), as I usually post a little before that, so a ‘Randomnessessities’ post should appear near the top around that time. You can click ‘follow’ from your reader there.

        And if all that sounds a bit complicated, I just thought of a simpler solution. Assuming permission is granted, I’ll dive into my old WordPress account and invite Shirley as a follower (I believe I have her WP username somewhere. She’ll receive a confirmation email after that. Hope this works!

        Please give Shirley my thanks for wanting to follow my writing. It’s a great honor!

      2. I shall tell the old boot to look out for an email as it sounds a good plan. Presently she does pick up on ‘shares’ of your work on Facebook so all is not lost. By the way I note we both have a couple of pieces in the sozsatire mag – it looks well presented and there is much good reading therein!

Leave a Reply

