IN THE COMPANY OF IDIOTS

Image

Last night I dreamed what I would do

If I stood in your place

If ‘time’ had never happened

Or if ‘time’ could be erased

 

I dreamed that souls were never lost

Fighting for your cause

In the company of idiots

You sanctioned pointless wars

 

In the company of idiots

You sought and gained applause

In the company of idiots

You settled some old scores

 

Last night I dreamed a nightmare

You got inside my head

Addicted to a power lust

That filled us all with dread

 

I dreamed you pulled the trigger

Blew my brains away

I’m not with you; I’m against you

Will be ‘till Judgment Day

 

I dreamed that I was digging

For you a grave in which to lie

I dreamed that high above me

Was only clear blue sky

 

I dreamed that as they lay you to rest

In a pauper’s grave

That no more, to eternity

Would we follow as if slaves

 

TAKE YOUR PICK AS TO WHICH ONE I AM WRITING ABOUT – BOTH WERE/ARE AS BAD AS EACH OTHER!


27 thoughts on “IN THE COMPANY OF IDIOTS

  1. Very nice. Strong imagery, and I love your subtle use of rhythm in all your poems. You really have a talent for poetry. I’ve said it before, it ain’t easy writing poems that don’t come out trite, sing-songy, and clumsy. You Sir, are a master at it.

      1. True. They were that, but I’ll be damned if they both don’t look great in the suits they’re wearing in the pic. Dashingly good looking fellows, eh? For a couple of bastards, I mean.

  2. Thank you again for such a wonderful descriptive post, sir! Darn. My father was an engineer, mom a stay home raise 5 kids mother, and we made it, always food, etc. Can’t do that any more, unless one has a very lucrative job, both parents must work to raise children and buy a house and car. Times have changed, and in many places not for the best, certainly not for the best of us middle-classers. But thank you Mike.

    1. Cheers for that. By the way I was having a bit of difficulty opening up your blog from The League of Mental Men blog yesterday. So don’t think were ignoring you – will have another go today.

  3. The tragedy of it all is that there doesn’t seem to be an end to the power-games such idiots play and we bear the consequences. Great poem!

  4. These ‘idiots’ do keep coming though – they’re everywhere and we usually elect them into their positions of power…what does it say about the collective ‘us’?

      1. Well .. I think they should be arrested…
        Blair is also responsible I believe. for stopping Cormack Murphy O’ Connor from being prosecuted… for not reporting child abuses, by his colleagues/so called priest’s,,,.. over a period of 20 years… then O’ Connor became a cardinal. and Blair later became a catholic… 😀

        I feel sure that The Lord Jesus Christ will deal with them in the not too distant future..

      2. Blair is an interesting case. The consummate liar – one can only speculate how many as the metaphoric curtain blacks out the essence of misdemeanors!

      3. Oddly I am a gentle atheist yet I follow blogs of an alternative view because I enjoy them. I believe wholeheartedly in compassion and loathe evil deeds and most time those view religion and I share the same space. Good on you Sir!

      4. I think that ‘ If there is No God ‘ there is no Justice..
        and I do believe in Justice..God is Just…

      5. My view is different yet I respect yours. To argue on such matters is something I would never do for that would offend the believer. Offence is wrong to all men/women of peace. Bottom line is that the only real difference twixt you and I is our view of after death basically! Not such a big deal.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.