NELL GWYNN: ‘SHE WINKED AND SMILED SO SWEETLY’ – A piece of ‘silly’ verse!

Dead brain today – hence reblog of old ‘silly’ verse!

- MIKE STEEDEN -

Image

 

Nell Gwynn was my sweetheart,

My lover and best friend,

I promised her we’d be together,

Until the very end,

 

Of time itself, if only,

That she felt that way too,

Yet she answered, “I am yours today,

That will have to do.”

 

We first met at Covent Garden,

Nell selling her wares,

I asked to partake of one,

She said, “Oranges or Pears?”

 

Taken aback more than a little,

I asked what else she’d got,

She winked and smiled so sweetly,

“I think you’ll find me hot!”

 

And that is how we started out,

In 1662,

What a summer that was,

When our love was new.

 

Nell though had ambition,

Nell took to the stage,

Very rarely did we meet then,

It left me in a rage.

 

“Pretty, witty Nell,”

Pepys did write of her,

Nell, oh so forgivable,

Yet what was…

View original post 204 more words


3 thoughts on “NELL GWYNN: ‘SHE WINKED AND SMILED SO SWEETLY’ – A piece of ‘silly’ verse!

Leave a Reply

