THE CRESTFALLEN SAGE

contortionist 2

The circus visits

Acrobats distract

Brave lithesome girls

Birds on a wire

Atlas men

Muscle bound pyramid

 

He forgets his purpose

When the travellers

Come to town

 

Jugglers juggle

His eyes fail to cope

Darts of Agincourt

His thoughts blended

At a rate of knots

Hell for leather

A soup of lunacy

Inside his old head

 

Tortuous episode

Stop…………desist

 

The clowns, those

Wretched painted clowns

Calamitous demons

Targeted tittering

Spatial genius

Crooked digits point

Conspiratorial whispers

Scare him shitless

Take aim

A bucket of paint?

Only harmless confetti

He should have guessed

 

In his nightmare

He counts his luck

Another layer

Before he comes to

 

A contortionist

Impossible design

Shape shifting dyspepsia

Nauseates

 

Outer layer now

Awakes with a start

Live audio

 

She asks him if

Dreams still haunt

He can but nod

Affirmative nod

Reluctant nod

Truthful nod

 

A crestfallen sage

A wry token smile

Is all he can offer this day

20 thoughts on “THE CRESTFALLEN SAGE

  1. Beautiful as usual, neatly capturing the ‘circus’ sentiment (the circus is a sentiment in my mind). Although I’m nostalgic to anything related with a circus coming to town (probably because they mostly stopped coming around the time internet entered our lives), I never really liked the circus. I always imagined how lonely I would be if I were to be part of a traveling circus.
    Btw, I apologize for my long absence. I’ve been busy setting up a company here on Curaçao with some friends of mine. It’s great fun, but stressful and very time consuming. I haven’t found the time to focus on reading and writing these past few weeks. I hope to catch up on both soon, though these next few weeks will probably remain quite on Satire Nation:S

    • Glad you are OK – hope the business is a success – I remember when we set up the investigations company – no business at all at the outset then one day it took off – it can be very stressful I know. By the way have just researched for a tale I’m writing and used the town of Curuçá in it – is that the same place as where you are or just a coincidence – literally picked up on this town for an Amazonian skit half an hour ago!

  2. Another poetic gem, Sir. Clowns. Does anyone really find them endearing? Like you, they kinda give me the creeps, and the few fellows I’ve know from the theater who did some work as clowns were just as creepy with their makeup off as with it on. Well written piece, my friend.

Leave a Reply

