THE DAYS BEFORE TIME WAS PRECIOUS

dali

in a dream, within a dream, within a nightmarish restless sleep

I saw visions ‘long ago’ as current, yet all things present lost in quantum leap

back in time, then further back, when all was crystal clear

then as yesterday is to tomorrow, I lost core reflections once held dear

congregation’s congregating, while on a gravestone we made artless love

they were praying for things outside His gift, while we touched heaven above

she came to faraway conclusions, as we spoke of days ahead

sharing a joint and laughing, spilling red wine on the new bedspread

so soon my fate was in her hands, yet she sat there babbling, playing dumb

plaiting Valkyrie blondest pig tails, whilst chewing, chewing gum

in the age before time was precious, flight of fancy defined our vital spark

glorious those days of milk and honey, where anything goes after dark

when falling into or out of love, we are all victims of a precious truth

of letting slip from memory, so swift to empty is the fountain of youth

time’s tyranny and ravages come to haunt when nearing journeys end

comforting to know she remains my matchless lover and forever, my best friend

52 thoughts on “THE DAYS BEFORE TIME WAS PRECIOUS

      1. Latterly her tastebuds are all I can dazzle. If she reads this thread she’ll kill me! Truth be told we are very much in love and have been since Julius Caesar invaded these shores.

  1. stunning – elegant – romance as it could never be better expressed – filled with brilliantly conceived phrases, my 2 favorites being the title line and “so swift to empty is the fountain of youth”

      1. When all else goes wrong at least I am in love. She’s a nutter but after 30 years (still can’t believe that as I was 104 when we met) but she’s mine all mine. Just clicked a song on me big toe whilst typing by the way…Yesterday by The Beatles if I’m not mistaken.

  2. So very, very beautiful. As you close, this: “time’s tyranny and ravages come to haunt when nearing journeys end

    comforting to know she remains my matchless lover and forever…” As you said to me, it is the Constant Among All Else that makes life’s battles worth fighting.

    1. Kind words, thank you. That time moves at a dawdle when we are kids, then has the audacity to break into a sprint when approaching the other end of life is, perhaps my only complaint regarding my consciousness all things told.

      1. Nope, not relevant, but I think it’s because one gurgles in the throat, and that’s where some delicate bones may rattle when broken….gosh that’s morbid…um, rainbow unicorns with fluffy spotted kittens playing with balls of sparkly yarn!
        Whew, that’s better…

Leave a Reply

